Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

Adobe Flash Player

Free
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Excellent
Average User Rating:
out of 699 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    23.0.0.162
  • Total Downloads:
    39,323,151
  • Date Added:
    Sep. 15, 2016
  • Price:
    Free

Editors' Note: Clicking on the Download Now (Visit Site) button above will open a connection to a third-party site. Download.com cannot completely ensure the security of the software hosted on third-party sites.

Editors' Review

+

Adobe Flash Player 11, the browser extension mainly designed to stream Flash video files in your browser, shows a quantum leap in performance over previous versions. It has a number of new features designed to take full advantage of the newer 64-bit browsers and operating systems available for Windows, Linux, and Mac OS. This makes it a more effective tool for Web developers and anyone who enjoys media-rich applications or sites like YouTube. However, with the improvement come a few headaches that users of certain browsers may encounter.

If you use Google Chrome, there is no need to download Adobe Flash Player 11, as it comes as part of the download package. For those using other browsers, you may be prompted to update depending on your settings. This isn't a program that will be prominent for most users -- it works primarily in the background. And while it can be accessed from the toolbar of your browser, we don't recommend tinkering around with this plug-in unless you're an experienced professional. Web developers will notice it has better integration with browsers' JavaScript console. This version is configured to use system resources more efficiently and provide enhanced high-resolution bitmap support for more detailed and accelerated videos and graphics.

Adobe Flash 11 is not without a few flaws, and users of Google Chrome are most likely to encounter them. Flash Player 11 is subject to freezing up the browser, giving a prompt at the top of a tab saying the player isn't responding, with a prompt to stop it. Once it is stopped, it will restart automatically, but it leaves an annoying message at the top of every open browser tab reporting the obvious fact that it has crashed. Mac users should be aware that it requires OS X 10.6 or higher running on an Intel platform to function properly. For the most part, however, this program brings faster, better graphics that even those who don't understand what a plug-in does will appreciate.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 673

1 stars

"So many years... Adobe still releases this junk!"

March 11, 2016  |  By tehhaxorrme

2016-03-11 23:53:53  |  By tehhaxorrme

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.267

Pros

ZERO, ziltch, nada - it's garbage that screws your computer.

Cons

Every hour or so I get a adobe script error after it bogs my computer down.... then it just crashes - options are to continue script or stop, which if you stop it, it will crash all your vids, if you let it go, your computer nearly stops.... Year after year after year.

Summary

Do yourself a YUGE favor and try to figure out some other alternative - which is what I'm about to do. I've never seen ANY software developer release so much fail over such a long period of time! You'd think in 2016 we can watch video without issues by now. Apparently video is very very complex for Adobe

Reply to this review Read replies (5)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Do not do it."

December 28, 2015  |  By dolarmity

2015-12-28 13:18:12  |  By dolarmity

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.235

Pros

NOTHING AT ALL

Cons

It is like downloading a massive goo into the computer, slows down most operations and gets unwanted ads to boot. Is free but we should charge them for allowing them to install that on our computers.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Horribly slows down computer"

September 20, 2015  |  By joe742

2015-09-20 18:03:54  |  By joe742

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.232

Pros

Absolutely none

Cons

Version 18 turned my computer into molasses

Summary

Ever since version 18 was released, sites that formerly took a couple of seconds to load literally take a couple of minutes. I've disabled flash, and things are fine again. Regarding sites I visit that require flash, I'll be switching to competitors that don't use it.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Version 18 stutters like mad"

September 13, 2015  |  By rykerabel

2015-09-13 00:32:43  |  By rykerabel

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.232

Pros

None, can't watch anything any more.

Cons

Both audio and video stutter since the version 18 update.

Summary

Typical Adobe crap.
I miss Macromedia.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Doesn't work on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit"

August 26, 2015  |  By LincNeb

2015-08-26 10:58:52  |  By LincNeb

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.232

Pros

None since it won't even finish installing

Cons

It won't install.

Summary

It's time sites like the BBC find alternatives to Flash as the A(ustraliian) BC has already done. I hate to say it, but really is time for Flash to disappear and only free video formats to be used!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Rats! Why did I accept the update?!"

August 17, 2015  |  By pe0m

2015-08-17 06:49:51  |  By pe0m

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.232

Pros

Nothing. I can't use this rotten thing.

Cons

After I did an automatic update my new MacBook Pro slowed to a stumbling crawl. There was no alternative to removing it.

Summary

PITA

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Won't perform properly.---------- version 18.0.0.209"

August 04, 2015  |  By nosmiley

2015-08-04 22:09:56  |  By nosmiley

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.209

Pros

I haven't found any pros. It won't download and run properly.

Cons

Won't download and run properly. each time I go to a new page, it says the page wants to download Adobe. If you click OK, then nothing happens.
If you click OK for ALL requests, it then goes to the page, and asks again if it can down load.
I have followed numerous directions about uninstalling Adobe Flash player. I have used Revo Uninstaller, Adobe Flash uninstaller, Iobit uninstaller, went to the adobe site and followed the directions. Tried several virus scans, Malware bytes, etc. with no luck. Tried Combo Fix. . I have windows 7, all updates. It's interesting that it all seemed to go to hello about the day windows 10 came out. . My computer began behaving differently, and I have not downloaded anything from Microsoft regarding windows 10. I read yesterday, it has a security problem already.

Summary

I may try a time or two more to download, and get it to work. After that , I'll do without. Anytime a company starts to believe you HAVE to have their product, the quality usually goes to pieces.
They may not realize, I don't actually have to have a computer at all, much less programs that refuse to work. Most of the people that use the computer are average intelligence. If Adobe wants to go after a higher intellect market, they don't need me. I think CNET is doing us a disservice to rate it excellent. They have become part of the problem.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Warning: installs unwanted programs. Also vulnerable."

July 19, 2015  |  By Tryumph

2015-07-19 10:05:50  |  By Tryumph

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.209

Pros

Give me a couple of years and I'll try to come up with something.

Cons

Vulnerable
Buggy
Crashes
Obsolete

Summary

Many experts and ordinary people (like me) have hated Flash for a long time. It's full of bugs and vulnerabilities, plus it likes to crash. The recent news (July 2015) that Firefox has blocked it (by default) hopefully will prompt other software producers to do the same.

Even worse, if you go to Adobe's website to update flash, it automatically installs a McAfee antivirus program WITHOUT GIVING YOU THE OPTION. This is a gross violation of commonly accepted standards for freeware.

You can, however, defeat the McAfee installation. When you're installing Flash, progress bars will show two separate installations. After the Flash install is complete, close (not minimize) the window to abort the remaining installation.

Adobe has done many good things, including the invention of Postscript, Illustrator, Photoshop and the late, lamented PageMaker (although technically PageMaker was created by another company, Aldus, that Adobe bought.) So come on, Adobe, do another good thing: Dump Flash.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Annoying and won't load"

July 15, 2015  |  By amsev1960

2015-07-15 23:33:20  |  By amsev1960

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.209

Pros

none whatsoever

Cons

This software downloads some sort of download management software that just sits there and won't install anything. I've tried to find a fix, because, yes, I would like to see my weather radar functioning again, but enough is enough. Adobe, FIX THIS!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"FP 18.0.0.203 is a piece of SH**"

July 11, 2015  |  By 123321xcb

2015-07-11 21:45:54  |  By 123321xcb

 |  Version: Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.203

Pros

Nothing. Nada. Xip. Zilch.

Cons

Crashes in opera...in FF...in IE...in Chrome

Crashes, crashes, crashes.

But, hey, at least my comp's not getting hacked.

Mega-meg Adobe, where the developers couldn't write clean code if their lives depended on it.

Summary

Find.
An.
Alternative.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 673

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for Adobe Flash Player
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 23.0.0.162
  • Mozilla NPAPI AsyncDrawing Support
  • HSTS Support in Flash Player
  • Disabling local-with-filesystem access in Flash Player by default
  • Video and Camera support for Stage3D by VideoTexture for Flash Player
General
Publisher Adobe Systems
Publisher web site http://www.adobe.com/
Release Date September 13, 2016
Date Added September 15, 2016
Version 23.0.0.162
Category
Category Browsers
Subcategory Other Browser Add-ons & Plugins
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/2003/Vista/Server 2008/7
Additional Requirements Internet Explorer 7.0 and above, Mozilla Firefox 4.0 and above, Google Chrome, Safari 5.0 and above, and Opera 11
Download Information
File Size Not Available
File Name External File
Popularity
Total Downloads 39,323,151
Downloads Last Week 6,592
Pricing
License Model Free
Limitations Not available
Price Free

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +
Close[x]

Submit a problem report for Adobe Flash Player

Please describe the problem you have with this software. This information will be sent to our editors for review.

Problem:

The Download.com Installer isn't working as expected

The download link does not work

The software has a newer version

The product contains malicious software

Other

Description:

Please select a feedback type.

Please enter a description.

Submit Problem Report

Close[x]

Problem Report submitted

Thank you for submitting a problem report! The Download team is committed to providing you with accurate software information.

OK