Download.com Shuttlecock
  • Navigation
  • open search
Close

PLATFORMS

POPULAR LINKS

CATEGORIES

HELP & SETTINGS

AdFender

$19.95
Download Editors' Rating:
Editors' Rating:
Very good
Average User Rating:
out of 53 votes out of 0 votes

Quick Specs

  • Version:
    2.31
  • Total Downloads:
    657,800
  • Date Added:
    Nov. 17, 2016
  • Price:
    Free to try (14-day trial); $19.95 to buy (Buy it now)

Editors' Review

+

AdFender is a wide-reaching piece of ad blocking software that plays well with Web browsers, P2P programs, and messaging applications. If you're looking to get less advertising content when using your computer, AdFender might be for you.

Pros

Product reach: AdFender extends ad blocking across Internet browsers and other software categories.

Saving bandwidth: The more complex advertising gets, the more of your Internet bandwidth ads are taking up. Video ads and ads with moving graphics can greatly slow down the time it takes a website to load, and can greatly increase the amount of bandwidth that site consumes. By blocking this content, you can speed up your browsing experience.

Low-resource blocking: Some ad blocking apps are resource hogs. The speed benefits you get by loading less online content are destroyed by the resource drain on your machine needed in order to run the blocking software. AdFender doesn't suffer from this problem, and runs lean and clean in the background without slowing down your PC.

Cons

Complicated operation: Although AdFender is quite well designed, the program can be a little complex at times, especially when it comes to the customizable rules.

Bottom Line

Overall, AdFender is an excellent choice for ad blocking software. It works well, doesn't slow your computer down, and works in almost all pieces of software that display website content. The complexity of certain features might be a bit overwhelming. But given enough time, you should be able to learn its ins and outs.

 
read more +

Publisher's Description

+
 
read more +
User Reviews
+

Results 1–10 of 53

1 stars

"New version awful"

May 19, 2016  |  By johnbok

2016-05-19 07:09:10  |  By johnbok

 |  Version: AdFender 2.25

Pros

Nothing, it is a step backwards from the previous version which was good

Cons

Constantly gives you pop-ups about services so you cannot get to see the webpage! You have no idea really if you should "approve" a warning or not. Now it is un-usable and is not longer a background app but one which spoils your surfing.

Summary

Forget this new version, a waste of time

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

1 stars

"Does not work anymore"

November 20, 2014  |  By abmetzy1

2014-11-20 07:59:49  |  By abmetzy1

 |  Version: AdFender 1.83

Pros

Was a great program and blocked almost everything.

Cons

It is not blocking a single ad anymore.

Summary

I loved this program when I first got it and the original reviews were spot on...however something has changed and now it is horrible. It does not block anything. I click on the icon to see how many ads are blocked and absolutely nothing. I am extremely disappointed!

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"Doesn't Work"

October 25, 2014  |  By dpr69

2014-10-25 06:01:06  |  By dpr69

 |  Version: AdFender 1.83

Pros

1.82 works pretty well... 1.83 doesn't

Cons

Same experience as the previous poster for this version. 1.83 doesn't work... Less than 5 minutes after install AdFender crashed. Web pages take an extra 5 - 30 seconds to load if they load at all. Blocks entire webpages that I don't want blocked. Filters and exceptions don't seem to do anything. Always says 0 ads blocked

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (1)   (0)  

1 stars

"worthless trash"

September 04, 2014  |  By rorschach72

2014-09-04 12:01:19  |  By rorschach72

 |  Version: AdFender 1.83

Pros

Nothing at all.

Cons

Less than 5 minutes after install AdFender crashed. Web pages take an extra 5 - 30 seconds to load if they load at all. Blocks entire webpages that I don't want blocked. Filters and exceptions don't seem to do anything. Another dissappointing pile of crap. Someone please make an ad blocker that actually works.

Summary

Avoid this garbage.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (1)  

1 stars

"Did nothing for me in Win7"

June 14, 2014  |  By crsecon

2014-06-14 13:23:38  |  By crsecon

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

Unknown. No effects positive or negative.

Cons

Let several hundred ads through and itself showed 0 blocked.

Summary

Uninstalled.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Looks like it works."

May 22, 2014  |  By j44cook

2014-05-22 22:08:44  |  By j44cook

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

it has reduced the number of pop-ups in my favorite browsers.



looks like it's working

Cons

Sometimes blocks downloads.

Summary

On balance, effective blocking worth the extra click to allow some downloads.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

5 stars

"Works well for me!"

May 14, 2014

2014-05-14 11:36:49

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

Adfender has been blocking almost all of the malware that used to clog up my system. I had to be running spyware cleaners daily. Now I run a cleaner once per week just to make sure everything is good. I usually don't find anything when I run the scans.

Cons

I have not found any bad aspects of this free program. It does not use much processing power and it saves me time.

Summary

I would definitely give this program a try. It might save you a bunch of time and headaches. It is easy to download and install.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

2 stars

"Allows More Than Half Ads Through"

May 03, 2014  |  By techiesitemaker

2014-05-03 13:35:06  |  By techiesitemaker

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

-Simplicity and Dashboard

Cons

- Lets through more than half the ads I threw at it through
- Uses Adblock Plus/AdBlock filter lists, which blocks text frequently in a blog
- No Malware Domains that Adblock Plus has
- Slows down browsing

Summary

When I was using Maxthon, I had some trouble using AdHunter and decided to dig out an ad blocker. I found on a forum that recommended AdFender, so I decided to give it a spin. Along with AdHunter, it defeated all the ads on the 5 pages I tested. I then switched to Chrome because of issues with Maxthon, and bam! Ads started seeping through and all the pages had ads! I can't go to Maxthon, so what to do? I simply installed another ad blocker and went on!

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

4 stars

"Most Stable I.E. Ad Blocker That's Free"

March 23, 2014

2014-03-23 09:52:40

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

Effectively blocks almost all ads and popups. Also works great on eliminating the annoying flash ads that are on Yahoo messenger. It contains three basic blocking filters... 1. Easy List ad-blocker. 2.Malware Domains, 3. Easy Privacy.

Cons

For some reason adfender lets through ads on Yahoo websites. Some ads in Youtue videos also get through. It also slows down browser speed very slightly, a small price to pay when one to avoid the ad bombardment.

Summary

I know many use the "Ad-Block Plus extension" for Chrome or Firefox, and I do too but for Internet Explorer, Adfender works pretty good for me.

Reply to this review

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

3 stars

"Was The Best & My Favorite Until..."

February 07, 2014  |  By DontWannaKnow

2014-02-07 23:31:04  |  By DontWannaKnow

 |  Version: AdFender 1.80

Pros

Works for many things at once. Just about any browser, P2P's or such. Automatic updates and easy to install and set up. Works as advertised and especially well imho. Very non invasive Until....

Cons

My favorite Ad blocker (AdFender) started giving me ADS!! Not ads exactly but pop-ups asking for donations.

Summary

I understand the need for finances to run any business, Home or even hobby. Please don't break your cardinal rule to solicite it! I promptly uninstalled.

Reply to this review Read reply (1)

Was this review helpful? (0)   (0)  

Results 1–10 of 53

Add Your Review

Login or create an account to post a review.

You are logged in as . Please submit your review for AdFender
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Update Your Review

Since you've already submitted a review for this product, this submission will be added as an update to your original review.
Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

 
see all reviews +

Full Specifications

+
What's new in version 2.31
Version 2.31:
  • Added support for removing tracking cookies from Microsoft Edge
  • Added 'Check for updates' option in tray icon menu
  • Added support for Chrome and Firefox cookies across all user profiles
  • Improved cookie cleaning in Chrome
  • Fixed issue with establishing SSL connections due to cipher list
  • Fixed issue enumerating Internet Explorer cookies on Windows 10
  • Fixed issue with custom entries not working in HTTPS excluded list
  • Fixed issue with TLD file not updated in Standard mode
  • Removed history tab
General
Publisher AdFender
Publisher web site http://www.adfender.com
Release Date November 16, 2016
Date Added November 17, 2016
Version 2.31
Category
Category Security Software
Subcategory Popup Blocker Software
Operating Systems
Operating Systems Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10
Additional Requirements None
Download Information
File Size 6.92MB
File Name Setup.exe
Popularity
Total Downloads 657,800
Downloads Last Week 934
Pricing
License Model Free to try
Limitations 14-day trial
Price $19.95

Previous Versions:

Add to my list Report a problem
 
read more +