AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.0 stars

Excellent

Average User Rating stars

out of 24,623 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 1-8 of 8

  • 4.0 stars

    "good but not best"

    June 28, 2015  |   By adrin.sc

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    good detect and beautiful interface

    Cons

    no pasword protection for own.
    very ram usage about 200 mg
    very ad

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Download with "CAUTION"!"

    June 20, 2015  |   By akabarbieq

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Its free(?)

    Cons

    Wanted to rate 0 Stars but won't let me!
    After installing AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 (Uninstalled @ 4 hrs later!):
    #4. Annoying pop ups, blocking me from going to sites.
    e.g.: Walmart online, Military.com (All 4 times)
    #3. Computer ran very sluggish - the whole time (All 4 times)
    #2. Computer locked up/crashed - a lot (All 4 times)
    Average lock ups/crashes per 10 minutes: 2
    #1. The worst of all - When the initial scan finished (no infections):
    I started getting pop ups saying "Windows is not genuine"!
    (This only happened with the 2015 version. See summary)

    Summary

    I did my homework - I did the math!
    AVG AntiVirus has consistently high ratings:
    > #2 in Anti-virus Software
    >Excellent - Editor's Rating
    > 4 stars - Average User's Rating(All Versions)
    >The write ups were very praising
    >Seemed to have what I needed.
    So, I gave 'em a shot. 4 times! 4 different versions! 4 different O.S.!
    (Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7)
    Each time, I hoped the new version fixed the problems I had &/or maybe
    it was my old computer & its O.S. - & remember - cnet did rank AVG #2,
    & gave them high ratings & praises! They must be good! Right! (?)

    WRONG !

    If AVG is great, its "only" on paper! Every time I installed AVG's AntiVirus software, I had the same problems. (See cons) I did the math but came up
    with very different answers!
    The first 3 installs, with all their disastrous effects, were an easy fix. I did
    complete uninstalls, removed all files & registry entries made by software. My
    computers ran like they did before the installs - GREAT!
    This install has no easy, nor cheap, fix! The complete uninstall didn't fix
    the Windows problem. (See cons - especially #1)
    Tried entering my Product Key but says its not good.
    I bought/registered (Fry's) 5 yrs ago & now Microsoft says I have to buy a new Product Key if I can't find my receipt!

    * * * WARNING * * *

    DOWNLOAD WITH MUCH CAUTION!

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "What the hell happened"

    June 17, 2015  |   By davesicecream

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Like others have said AVG FREE used to be great, but now.... man does this stink. Bloat ware, intrusive messages, s.l.o.w....

    Meh, I'm moving on

    Cons

    Meh, I'm moving on

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "I have used AVG before, never again"

    June 10, 2015  |   By TeapartyMember

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Insures shady techs will have plenty of business from you.

    Cons

    fake anti-virus, more of a virus magnet.

    Summary

    does not remove viruses, it just acts like it does. This is a program that shady techs like, because it insure constant return business for them. They will have to come and remove the viruses AVG says it has removed, because it never removed it in the first place. Plus, no matter how hard you try to keep your computer clean, and watch sites you go to, you will have more viruses with this program than any other.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Decent Antivirus"

    June 6, 2015  |   By JoshD15

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    1) Great user interface and options. 2) Decent malware/virus detection 3) 4) No system slow down. 5) NO POPUPS OF PAID VERSION!

    Cons

    Malware detection could be improved slightly more.

    Summary

    AVG free is a decent Antivirus, does it's job quietly with good detection. It has improved over the years.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "AVG 2015 free does not work"

    June 5, 2015  |   By mhappy01

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    better than hemaroids unless you dont have a colon.

    Cons

    down load doesnt work - errors such as "driver install fail" or license key wrong. removal app doesnt work, reset access doesnt work. All this after removing all apps AVG isnt compatible with.

    Summary

    Kind of stunned now. AVG free has been part of my life for five years and its gone. Feels like my dogs been run over and i can't imagine what to replace him with. Any body got any suggestions for a working, reliable and free anti-virus app?

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "A once-great program goes down the toilet..."

    May 24, 2015  |   By schwaber

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    There cannot be any when then program refuses (4 times, 2 downloads) to install!

    Cons

    Absolutely refuses to install with four tries over two different downloads, returning two different error messages (1 set for each of the two install downloads) .

    Summary

    It's been many years since I've had this much trouble installing a program (and I go back to the old DOS Command Line days...). The install program variously tells me that either there is simply an installation error or alternatively that the install code - which self-populates during the installation process - is incorrect; both errors were reported for each of the two downloads.

    It's sad to see a great old program enter its age of senility...

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "HORRIBLE PRODUCT & CUSTOMER SERVICE"

    May 22, 2015  |   By jeanneej

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    None that I have experienced

    Cons

    Will not update, after searching and searching their website I finally found a phone number to which all I keep getting is someone that wants to remote into my computer, THAT IS NOT HAPPENING, and when I refused that sent me a link to Remove AVG and reinstall and the remover does not work AT ALL. called back again and again only option is to let them remote in and again that is not happening!!

    Summary

    I am not even using the free version I paid for this nonsense!!!! And it is more like I paid to put a virus on my computer and no one wants to fix the issue. Was told "a lot of customers are experiencing this issue" so that just tells me that is a rip off. Save your money go with a different anti virus because this one doesn't work regardless if you pay or not.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

Results 1-8 of 8

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel