AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.0 stars

Excellent

Average User Rating stars

out of 24,628 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 1-10 of 21384

  • 3.0 stars

    "Good but one issue"

    August 23, 2015  |   By SmallFamilyof3A

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6125

    Pros

    The good part: Virus Cleaned. Issue: The virus added porn images to our PC. Even after the virus was AVG, the porn images remained. I had to download another software called 'Porn Terminator' from CNET to find and delete all porn. Their website is http://www.pornterminator.com. I had the same issue with another anti-virus software. Virus is deleted but the porn remains!!! I would have been angry if my 6 yr old son saw those image !!!

    Cons

    The good part: Virus Cleaned. Issue: The virus added porn images to our PC. Even after the virus was AVG, the porn images remained. I had to download another software called 'Porn Terminator' from CNET to find and delete all porn. Their website is http://www.pornterminator.com. I had the same issue with another anti-virus software. Virus is deleted but the porn remains!!! I would have been angry if my 6 yr old son saw those image !!!

    Reply to this review Read replies (2)

    Was this review helpful? (1) (4)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Works fine on XP. V 2015.0.5315 / 2015.0.6086 (FREE)"

    August 9, 2015  |   By JoeGonsalves

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6125

    Pros

    It seems to do its job quietly in the background.
    Fixed the problems Microsoft Security Essentials was causing.
    Plan to use it on another XP laptop.

    Cons

    Have not had a problem yet.

    Summary

    Very old Gateway Profile 5 AIO Desktop with XP SP3

    AVG 2015.0.5315 / 2015.0.6086 (FREE) been just fine since Oct.2014

    Never tried "Fix Performance". There are better tools out there for that.

    I guess there's nothing that clashes with it on my box.
    I just leave it to do its main job.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Not Working on XP"

    August 1, 2015  |   By atkin5678

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6086

    Pros

    No Pro for this product as I cannot run it.

    Cons

    Not compatible with XP maybe because the CPU has does not have SSE2.

    Summary

    Got another Anti Virus that works.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "will not install, crashes!"

    August 1, 2015  |   By alcamii

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6086

    Pros

    never got that far!

    Cons

    never got that far!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Added on useless programs"

    July 29, 2015  |   By peechdoctor

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6086

    Pros

    None. It's just bad.

    Cons

    Everything. It doesn't work like it used to.

    Summary

    I had AVG free on my old comp and it worked great. I used the pc maintenance often. It would scan and then "fix" the problems. Now after the scan is completed and i click "fix", it directs me to their web site to download some other pc clean up type program and two new icons appear on the desktop. Then it starts to run some "one click maintenance" thingy that i don't want. My son tried to get on the internet and there was a pop up from AVG blocking everything. When we tried to "x" out of it, it opened yet another pop up asking us to buy something. I was planning on buying the full version due to it working so well before, but after this experience, no thank you. What is all the new crap they added?? Dear AVG, if it isn't broke, don't fix it.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "AVG HIJACKED MY BROWSER!!!!!!!"

    July 25, 2015  |   By road7

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6086

    Pros

    None, uninstalling

    Cons

    AVG HIJACKED MY BROWSER !!!!!! With the help of yahoo, avg web tune or whatever its called hijacked my browser. I don't trust this program anymore. Im uninstalling and looking for new virus protection.

    Summary

    I guess after all these years and downloads they feel comfortable enough to hijack browsers and install bloatware. Uninstalling and finding new virus protection.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 4.0 stars

    "good but not best"

    June 28, 2015  |   By adrin.sc

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    good detect and beautiful interface

    Cons

    no pasword protection for own.
    very ram usage about 200 mg
    very ad

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (3) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Download with "CAUTION"!"

    June 20, 2015  |   By akabarbieq

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Its free(?)

    Cons

    Wanted to rate 0 Stars but won't let me!
    After installing AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 (Uninstalled @ 4 hrs later!):
    #4. Annoying pop ups, blocking me from going to sites.
    e.g.: Walmart online, Military.com (All 4 times)
    #3. Computer ran very sluggish - the whole time (All 4 times)
    #2. Computer locked up/crashed - a lot (All 4 times)
    Average lock ups/crashes per 10 minutes: 2
    #1. The worst of all - When the initial scan finished (no infections):
    I started getting pop ups saying "Windows is not genuine"!
    (This only happened with the 2015 version. See summary)

    Summary

    I did my homework - I did the math!
    AVG AntiVirus has consistently high ratings:
    > #2 in Anti-virus Software
    >Excellent - Editor's Rating
    > 4 stars - Average User's Rating(All Versions)
    >The write ups were very praising
    >Seemed to have what I needed.
    So, I gave 'em a shot. 4 times! 4 different versions! 4 different O.S.!
    (Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7)
    Each time, I hoped the new version fixed the problems I had &/or maybe
    it was my old computer & its O.S. - & remember - cnet did rank AVG #2,
    & gave them high ratings & praises! They must be good! Right! (?)

    WRONG !

    If AVG is great, its "only" on paper! Every time I installed AVG's AntiVirus software, I had the same problems. (See cons) I did the math but came up
    with very different answers!
    The first 3 installs, with all their disastrous effects, were an easy fix. I did
    complete uninstalls, removed all files & registry entries made by software. My
    computers ran like they did before the installs - GREAT!
    This install has no easy, nor cheap, fix! The complete uninstall didn't fix
    the Windows problem. (See cons - especially #1)
    Tried entering my Product Key but says its not good.
    I bought/registered (Fry's) 5 yrs ago & now Microsoft says I have to buy a new Product Key if I can't find my receipt!

    * * * WARNING * * *

    DOWNLOAD WITH MUCH CAUTION!

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (1) (3)

  • 1.0 stars

    "What the hell happened"

    June 17, 2015  |   By davesicecream

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Like others have said AVG FREE used to be great, but now.... man does this stink. Bloat ware, intrusive messages, s.l.o.w....

    Meh, I'm moving on

    Cons

    Meh, I'm moving on

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (3) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "I have used AVG before, never again"

    June 10, 2015  |   By TeapartyMember

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5961

    Pros

    Insures shady techs will have plenty of business from you.

    Cons

    fake anti-virus, more of a virus magnet.

    Summary

    does not remove viruses, it just acts like it does. This is a program that shady techs like, because it insure constant return business for them. They will have to come and remove the viruses AVG says it has removed, because it never removed it in the first place. Plus, no matter how hard you try to keep your computer clean, and watch sites you go to, you will have more viruses with this program than any other.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (1) (3)

Results 1-10 of 21384

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.6140
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel