AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.0 stars

Excellent

Average User Rating stars

out of 24,598 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 1-10 of 21

  • 2.0 stars

    "Can't connect to internet"

    January 18, 2015  |  

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    Quick scan, which found virus's that my previous software didn't.

    Cons

    With the firewall and the online shield activated I can not connect to the internet. Even trusted websites.

    Summary

    Uninstalling!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "This is the worst antivirus software"

    January 11, 2015  |  

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    Nothing just does what other do.

    Cons

    Buggy, no customer support, horrible web support.

    Summary

    On installing it my internet connection went down. It suggested something called AVG_BEF fix, but then it corrupted my network drivers. I ended up with a blue screen error. could not get them back even after multiple installations. There is no customer support. Their website support is horrible. Questionnaire does not allow submission. It is a trap. Please avoid this software at all cost.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (1) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "seriously? wth happened to avg?"

    December 28, 2014  |   By bevykona

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    it's free that is the only pro. chicken pox are free, too, but who wants them?

    Cons

    oh em gee. it used to be the one we all used and i always told all my friends, use avg, it's awesome. it's the opposite of awesome. it slows down everything, including my brand new computer that i removed mcafee from and a scan takes for freakin' ever. also the pop up ads trying to sell you something else. really? popup blockers don't even work at their constant nagging you to upgrade, buy this, etc. it's crap. (i don't think crap is profanity, but if i get scolded, i'll change that word) eye roll

    Summary

    don't do it. and whatever you do, do NOT load the 30 day free trial of the version with all the bells and whistles. it will never leave you alone. ever. the free version isn't worth the hassle.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "don't like"

    December 17, 2014  |   By jonpooris

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    there are no pros

    Cons

    It took over everything. It questioned every other cleaning programs I use. I took it off immediately.

    Summary

    I dislike it, after several years off bragging on AVG to friends, having them install it.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (3)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Best Anti-Virus I have found"

    December 15, 2014  |  

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    Light Weight, Easy to Use, Simple to install, Runs effectively with no need to even keep an eye on it

    Cons

    Nothing Bad

    Summary

    AVG is really light weight as far as Anti-viruses go, if you have a RAM issue with running it, then the least of your problems is viruses (with a 126mb RAM as previously commented, you may aswell have bought a calculator by 2014) Nagware is something that comes with virtually all free software, and the only one with AVG is a daily popup asking to upgrade (ignore it for 5 seconds and its gone) simply settings to adjust can load on the computer, I have used AVG since discovering and have never had to change once and never had a single error or virus in the life of my computers, (I am an IT professional and on the hundreds of computers I have handled, not one has been effected by viruses) To avoid the change of browsers and installed of unwanted programs when installing AVG, READ THE CHECK-BOXES CAREFULLY

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Very Disappointing"

    December 12, 2014  |   By The Old Hippie

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    Could not install, so there can be none

    Cons

    As a very satisfied multi-year user of AVG Anti-Virus products, I looked forward to AVG 2015. However, after downloading all versions of AVG2015 I could find and trying to get any to install, I have thrown in the towel. I've tried on a HP tower and Acer laptop. And on neither would AVG install. I keep seeing the ad for AVG help, with a fee, for installation so evidently they got tired of people using their free products.

    Summary

    They've lost not only a long time user and advocate but the benefit of my many reccomendations to the customers whose computers I maintain.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (2)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Bad Mistake"

    December 10, 2014  |   By fredg06

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    None; did not leave it installed more than a half day.

    Cons

    Too many annoying pop-ups, telling me my Opera version 12 was using too much memory and to restart my computer! Would not install Identity protection, cause I did not have enough RAM.

    Summary

    I have a 2000 Dell tower computer, XP/SP3, with 126 meg RAM, IE8, and using Opera version 12.
    AVG 2015 kept showing pop-ups, telling me the above. ,,,very annoying.
    I use Avast, and wanted to see if AVG would let my computer run any faster. I set a setpoint, using System Restore before uninstalling Avast. After installing AVG, I decided it wasn't worth it, so set it to reture to before I uninstalled Avast.
    It would NOT let me use System Restore!!! AVG had done something to it, causing it to tell me System Restore could not restore my computer!!
    I then used Wise Uninstaller to remove all the AVG 2015, when it did successfully. I then re-installed Avast 2015, which I like very much.
    I had used AVG since about 2002, but it's changed wayyyyyyy tooooo much!!!!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (2)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Good, i recommed it"

    December 9, 2014  |   By userya

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    The anti virus is useful

    Cons

    Great tool, easy to use

    Summary



    Updated on Dec 9, 2014

    Has improved over previous version: is much lighter.

    Updated on Dec 9, 2014

    I do not have any problem with it

    Updated on Dec 9, 2014

    One of the best, solid free protection

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "test for download"

    December 9, 2014  |   By cbsitestuser

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    test for download

    Cons

    test for download

    Summary



    Updated on Dec 9, 2014

    test for download2

    Updated on Dec 9, 2014

    This is an awesome app however like all apps this one is special because it is my app

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (3) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "pretty good"

    December 9, 2014  |   By Ion_cel_Ionescu

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557

    Pros

    pretty good, and free

    Cons

    no problems so far

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (3) (0)

Results 1-10 of 21

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 2015.0.5557
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel