AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 user reviews and ratings - CNET Download.com

AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 User Reviews

CNET Editors' Rating 4.5 stars

Outstanding

Average User Rating stars

out of 24,502 user reviews

Back to product review

All User Reviews

Results 1-10 of 19

  • 3.0 stars

    "AVG2014 ignores settings...but better than nothing(?)"

    April 17, 2014  |   By jhudson253

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    does seem* to provide protection for:
    antivirus, scans* (scheduled, etc), supposedly ID Protection(?)... separate sections for Computer, Identity, Email, Web Browsing, Firewall ... and settings all refer to the same "settings index" (not sure if this is a 'Pro' or not).

    Cons

    ignores the box "Heal infections automatically" (I UN-checked this box, to receive notifications of what it may find, but scan report indicates that it "healed" Many* files anyway, of its own accord. 'Support' is one big circle. Tried using their Forum, but no help there either. Still have No Idea where it stores the Reports... can't find it/them, No Help thru support or forum so far (about a week now). Had to turn Off scheduled scans until I can figure out how to get it to Stop removing, altering, files it says* are "infected". Oh, & no explanation as to what the 'infection' might be, that I can determine.
    Maybe I Shouldn't* have opted for the free 30-day Premium trial*!

    Summary

    unsure... except support seems to be non-exixtent (except for the one moderator I noticed that lives in the Czech Republic*...and he's not an AVG tech*). Interface looks 'complicated enough' to appear substantial, but the fact my Settings are ignored bothers me a lot*!

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Really good.Personally, I like it very much"

    April 16, 2014  |   By Kern4477

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Really good.Personally, I like it very much

    Cons

    Really good.Personally, I like it very much

    Summary

    Really good.Personally, I like it very much

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 4.0 stars

    "looks like good protection so far."

    April 16, 2014  |   By randolphgarrison1gmail

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    easy installation, scans quickly, good interface.

    Cons

    nags to purchase full suite.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 1.0 stars

    "Not Free At All"

    April 16, 2014  |   By spawn05

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Great Antivirus, Not a resource hog, Easy To use, works great

    Cons

    The download is free for only 29 day after that you have to pay. I really liked AVG antivirus been using it for many years and have always told everybody I know to use also. But not I won't use it or recommend it to any one else either.

    Summary

    It's very strange because the 2013 version was free with no problems.

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (1)

  • 1.0 stars

    "This Stinks !!!!"

    April 13, 2014  |   By bettyboop229

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Not a Single One !!

    Cons

    It doesn't work !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Summary

    I have contacted my Bank and it's being Disputed on my Debit Card !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply to this review Read reply (1)

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)

  • 5.0 stars

    "Much improved in 2014"

    April 13, 2014  |   By quartlow

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Unobtrusive, amazingly fast hard drive scanner, not bloatware.

    Cons

    Am suspicious about the speed it scans but have been using Avast for the last 3 years and am probably just used to slow software on a speedy new desktop.

    Summary

    Used the free and paid versions of AVG 3 years ago and the free version was all that was needed as the "pro" version was over the top trying to do too much. Then the free version got bloated as well. Switched to Avast and the paid version of it was also less useful than their free version. Avast finally became too big for its britches on the April 3, 2014 update and added a useless full page at each new Firefox startup. Used the REVO uninstaller full program to remove Avast and it had deeper roots than any program I've ever removed. AVG seems to have fixed their stuff now and works fine along with the new paid version of Malware Bytes. So long, Avast - you got way too bloated and greedy.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "divine program"

    April 11, 2014  |   By whpzgStripes

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Very fast worth the install.You wont need anything else

    Cons

    Zero for the moment. nada.

    Summary

    Really good.Personally, I like it very much. Another fav of mine is ********. , Honestly.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "It's pretty easy to use."

    April 10, 2014  |   By Lowes33247

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    I quickly uninstalled it

    Cons

    It was easy to use, even with the new features.

    Summary

    Good program

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 4.0 stars

    "Fast scans."

    April 10, 2014  |   By mylesgodfrey

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    Great free software.

    Cons

    No apparent conficts.

    Summary

    Excellent program.

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)

  • 5.0 stars

    "It was easy to use, even with the new features"

    April 10, 2014  |   By Rhys66551

    Version: AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355

    Pros

    It was easy to use, even with the new features

    Cons

    It was easy to use, even with the new features

    Summary

    It was easy to use, even with the new features

    Reply to this review

    Was this review helpful? (1) (2)

Results 1-10 of 19

Add Your Review

Log in or create an account to post a review.
You are logged in as . Please submit your review for AVG AntiVirus Free 2014 2014.0.4355
Add Your Review

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit your reply

Submit

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

cancel

E-mail this review

Submit cancel

Report offensive content

If you believe this comment is offensive or violates the CNET's Site Terms of Use, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the comment). Once reported, our staff will be notified and the comment will be reviewed.

Select type of offense:

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language
Spam: Advertisements or commercial links
Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users
Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content
Submit cancel

You must be 13 years of age or older to submit personal information to CNET Networks. In compliance with the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, CNET Networks does not accept name and e-mail address information from users who are under 13 years of age.

All submitted ratings and written comments become the sole property of CNET Networks, Inc. (CNET) and may be used at CNET Networks' sole discretion. Ratings and written comments are generally posted within two to four business days in batch groups, not in real time. However, CNET Networks reserves the right to remove or refuse to post any submission for any reason. You acknowledge that you, not CNET Networks, are responsible for the contents of your submission.

CNET Networks is not responsible for the content of the publisher's descriptions or user reviews on this site. We encourage you to determine whether this product or your intended use is legal. We do not encourage or condone the use of any software in violation of applicable laws. CNET Download.com does not sell, resell, or license any of the products listed on the site. We cannot be held liable for issues that arise from the download or use of these products.

Error

close

ERROR MESSAGE

If you think this is an error, please contact CNET TechTracker Support for further assistance.

Ok

Running Request

close

loading

Smart Install Software

close

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel